Al Khalil College ­ Curriculum

The National Curriculum for Excellence developed by the Scottish Government outlines seven key principles for curriculum design:

  • Challenge and Enjoyment
  • Breadth
  • Progression
  • Depth
  • Personalisation and Choice
  • Coherence
  • Relevance

Following these seven principles will lead our students to become successful learners , responsible citizens , confident individuals and effective contributors.

Al Khalil College uses the National Curriculum for Excellence to form the basis of its policy.

Al Khalil College will provide a broad range of subjects for students to study to maximise the students’ exposure and knowledge base in different fields of life. Some subjects not normally provided in the Scottish Curriculum may be provided based on the English Curriculum.

Along with the traditional subjects, students at Al Khalil College are fortunate to have the opportunity to study some of the sacred Islamic Sciences such as Tajweed, Seerah of our beloved Prophet Muhammad (May the peace and blessings of Allah ta’ala be upon him), Qur’an and Hadith.

The primary school will provide a firm foundation for our students to build upon. A particular focus on numeracy and literacy will be complimented with a broad base of subjects including IT, Art, P.E. and Languages that are taught by specialist teachers.

At this early stage in our students’ school life, we will foster the love of learning in our students providing a rich and varied experience leaving them in good stead for their later studies.

Our transitus year has been designed to help students make a smooth progression from primary education into a secondary setting. By becoming familiar to the style of teaching in secondary level facilities, students have the opportunity to prepare for the demands of secondary education. Some curriculum areas will be taught by subject specialists and students will not be confined to a single classroom but will move around the school building to use specialist facilities for particular subject areas.

In S3 and S4, students will study towards National 4 and National 5 qualifications. Students in S5 and S6 will have the opportunity to study a range of subjects at Higher and Advanced Higher level.